Mar 19

Arnold Laver sponsors Wood Awards Gold Award

In 2014, for the first time the national Wood Awards’ top accolade – the Gold Award – will be sponsored by one of the UK’s leading timber and materials suppliers, Arnold Laver.

The Arnold Laver Gold Award will be awarded to the overall winner of Wood Awards 2014 and, as it has for the last 40 years, will represent the very best of British design, craftsmanship and installation using wood.  Previous Wood Awards Gold Award winners include Edward Cullinan’s Weald & Download Museum, the Savill Building by Glenn Howell Architects, David Morley’s Hurlingham Club Outdoor Pool, the Rothschild Foundation by Stephen Marshall Architects, and last year, Bishop Edward King Chapel by Niall McLaughlin Architects.

Managing director of Arnold Laver, Andrew Laver, advised “At Arnold Laver we strive to provide the very best advice and solutions to encourage the use of wood based products in all aspects of the built environment. The Wood Awards recognises those individuals and companies who excel in the design and crafting of those products.  We are delighted to have our name associated with the pinnacle of that annual achievement – The Arnold Laver Gold Award.”

Commenting on behalf of the Wood Awards, David Venables, European director of the American Hardwood Export Council and founding major sponsor, said “Arnold Laver’s significant commitment and contribution is a pivotal moment for the Wood Awards. This kind of support from industry is a huge endorsement for the role the Wood Awards plays in engaging the design community about what is possible with wood. Started by the Worshipful Company of Carpenters’ in 1971 and adopted and rebranded by timber industry associations in 2003, the Wood Awards has emerged as one of the timber industry’s most powerful communication tools. Every year hundreds of projects; large and small, creative and innovative; help build wood’s profile in the UK. I am particularly pleased that industry wants to engage directly with this momentum, and in doing so, recognise the power of promotion to architects. Arnold Laver has shown the way and I hope others in our industry will follow to ensure this great event has a long and successful future”.

The aim of the Wood Awards is to recognise, encourage and promote outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation in wood and wood products. The Awards’ elite independent judging panel of professional experts and specialists not only judge the submitted entries but visit the shortlisted projects in person, making the Wood Awards as meaningful and rigorous a competition as possible.

As a not-for-profit competition, the Wood Awards can only happen with collaborative industry sponsorship. Major sponsors are the American Hardwood Export Council (AHEC), the Carpenters’ Company, TRADA and Wood for Good. Other sponsors include American Softwoods, BRE and the Forestry Commission, and new from 2014 is the combined sponsorship of the Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) and the Malaysian Timber Council (MTC) and the return of the British Woodworking Federation (BWF) as a supporter. The Wood Awards Gold Award is sponsored by Arnold Laver.

The Wood Awards is currently calling for entries, with a deadline of 16th May. More details, including criteria, details on each of the categories and the online entry form are available on Contact organiser Lucy Kamall on [email protected] for Wood Awards ‘Trade Entry Info’ packs to promote the call for entries to your customers.

– ends –

Notes to Editors:

Arnold Laver
Arnold Laver is a major force in today’s timber industry, with a strong reputation for both good service and product innovation.

Twelve strategically located depots ensure national coverage, whilst a substantial stock holding allows for a quick and reactive delivery.

Arnold Laver provides a range of product and service solutions to businesses in the construction sector, as well as house-builders, fit-out companies and joinery manufacturers. The company aims to be the first choice supplier of certified timber and timber based materials in the UK by making it easy for customers to trade with them.

The Wood Awards 2014
The Wood Awards the UK’s leading design competition for the world’s only naturally sustainable material.

Sponsors of the Wood Awards 2014 include the American Hardwood Export Council, Carpenters’ Company, TRADA, Wood for Good, American Softwoods, BRE, the Forestry Commission, PEFC/MTC and the British Woodworking Federation. The Wood Awards Gold Awards is sponsored by Arnold Laver.

Full details of all sponsors and information on the Wood Awards can be found at

Find ‘Wood Awards’ on Twitter @woodawards, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *