Mar 18

Call For Entries 2016


The Wood Awards: Excellence in British Architecture and Product Design has now launched its 2016 call for entries. Architects and designers from around the United Kingdom are invited to enter their wood-based projects and have until 27 May to submit their entries.

Established in 1971, the Wood Awards recognises, encourages and promotes outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation using wood in projects throughout the UK. The Wood Awards’ elite independent judging panel not only judges all submitted entries but also visits the shortlisted projects in person, making the Wood Awards a uniquely rigorous competition.

The Wood Awards shortlist will be announced in July and the winners will be announced at the Wood Awards ceremony in London on 22 November 2016, hosted by Crafts Magazine editor, Grant Gibson. The shortlisted projects will be on display at the ceremony and during the London Design Festival.

Michael Morrison of Purcell and Max Fraser of Spotlight Press return as chairmen of the Buildings and Furniture & Product judging panels. New to the Furniture & Product judging panel is Ruth Aram. Ruth heads up buying for the renowned Aram Store, based in Covent Garden. She says: “I grew up with design all around me.  This unfettered access to design on a daily basis has greatly influenced who I am today and generated a hunger and passion for design”.

Also new this year, everyone will be able to nominate contenders easily via Instagram and Twitter using the hashtag #WoodAwards2016. Once again within the Furniture & Product competition there will be a Student Award, recognising the value of student work in wood with £1500 in prize money (£1,000 for Winner and £500 for People’s Choice).

The Wood Awards top prize, the Arnold Laver Gold Award, goes to the overall winner of winners. Previous Gold Award winners include: The Hurlingham Club Outdoor Pool by David Morley Architects, the Ditchling Museum of Art + Craft by Adam Richards Architects, and most recently, The Fishing Hut by Niall McLaughlin Architects. All previous category winners from 2003 onwards can now be found on the new digital archive on the Wood Awards website.

With permission from the owner, anyone associated with a building or product completed in the last two years, can enter. Buildings must be located within the UK whilst furniture and other products must have been either designed or manufactured in the UK. There are no restrictions on the size, budget or function of entries. The competition is free to enter and entrants may submit more than one project. 


As a not-for-profit competition, the Wood Awards can only happen with collaborative industry sponsorship.

Arnold Laver sponsors the Arnold Laver Gold Award which is the project that the judges deem to be the best of all the winners.

Major Sponsors of the Wood Awards 2016 are American Hardwood Export Council, Carpenters’ Company, TRADA and Wood for Good.

Other sponsors include American Softwoods, British Woodworking Federation, Confederation of Timber Industries, Furniture Makers’ Company, Forestry Commission and Timber Trade Federation.



Editor’s Notes:

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @WoodAwards
Instagram: @WoodAwards

Press Contacts

Belinda Fisher and Francesca Gregson of Friends & Co.
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7336 8234
Email: [email protected]; [email protected]

f&c logo

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *