Apr 12

Meet the Building Judges

In the dynamic world of wood design, excellence is not merely acknowledged; it is celebrated. Central to this celebration is the discerning individuals who form the judging panel of the Wood Awards Building Category. With a shared commitment to architectural innovation and a relentless pursuit of pushing boundaries, these judges embody the very essence of the Wood Awards.

The Wood Awards takes great pride in presenting a distinguished panel of judges, each boasting a wealth of knowledge and experience in wood design. United by their passion for architectural ingenuity and their unwavering dedication to excellence, these esteemed individuals play a pivotal role in identifying and honouring outstanding achievements in wood projects.

What sets the Wood Awards apart is the meticulous approach of the judges, who personally visit and assess each project on the shortlist, ensuring a thorough and comprehensive evaluation process.

Let us introduce you to the remarkable individuals who comprise the Wood Awards Building Judges:

Jim Greaves, Hopkins Architects (Lead Building Judge)

Bringing over three decades of expertise from his tenure at Hopkins Architects, Jim Greaves has left an indelible mark on the architectural landscape with projects such as the Peninsula London Hotel and the South Molton Triangle development. His unwavering commitment to the Wood Awards as a judge for two decades underscores his dedication to championing excellence in wood design.

Andrew Lawrence, Arup

Renowned globally as a timber expert, Andrew Lawrence‘s work on iconic structures like Haut in Amsterdam and Canary Wharf Crossrail Station has earned him widespread acclaim. His role as an Arup Fellow and steadfast commitment to sustainability make him an invaluable asset to our esteemed judging panel.

Nathan Wheatley, Engenuiti

Co-founder of Engenuiti, Nathan Wheatley has spearheaded the completion of over 150 timber and CLT buildings, showcasing his prowess in structural engineering. His dedication to social and sustainable principles is evident in projects such as The Ivy Restaurant and Wintringham Primary Academy. 

Ruth Slavid, Architectural Journalist

With a distinguished career as a writer and editor specializing in architecture, Ruth Slavid‘s expertise is unparalleled. Her published works, including ‘Wood Architecture’ and ‘Extreme Architecture’, attest to her profound understanding and appreciation for wood in design.

Neil Smith, Max Fordham

Drawing upon over two decades of experience at Max Fordham, Neil Smith‘s expertise in building services engineering has contributed to award-winning projects worldwide. His steadfast commitment to integrating sustainability into building design aligns seamlessly with the ethos of the Wood Awards.

Kirsten Haggart, Waugh Thistleton

Known for her innovative projects like Murray Grove and MultiPly, Kirsten Haggart challenges conventional perceptions of timber used in architecture. Her visionary concept of Trenezia underscores her dedication to sustainable and community-centric design.

Jonas Lencer, dRMM

As a director of dRMM, Jonas Lencer has been a trailblazer in pioneering timber use in architecture for over 25 years. His leadership in material research and development has led to ground-breaking projects such as Endless Stair and Wintringham Primary Academy.

David Morley, David Morley Architects

With an impressive portfolio at David Morley Architects, David Morley‘s award-winning projects like the London 2012 Olympic Water Polo Arena and the Plimsoll Building speak volumes about his dedication to sustainable practice and design excellence.

Andrew Trotman, Timberwright

Renowned for his expertise as a specialist designer-maker in timber, Andrew Trotman brings a unique blend of creativity, structural engineering, and craftsmanship to the Wood Awards judging panel. His holistic approach to the use of UK timber in construction, coupled with his passion for woodland management and timber processing, enriches our assessment of wood projects.

With such a diverse and accomplished panel of judges, entrants can rest assured that their projects will be evaluated with the utmost expertise and integrity. We encourage architects, designers, craftsmen, and students to submit their entries and become part of the prestigious Wood Awards legacy. Enter now!

Stay tuned for further updates as we embark on a journey to celebrate excellence in wood design with our esteemed judges.

As a not-for-profit competition, the Wood Awards can only happen with collaborative industry sponsorship. Major Sponsors of the Wood Awards 2024 include the Carpenters Company, the American Hardwood Export Council and Timber Development UK.