Jun 28

New Judges Announced for Wood Awards 2024 Furniture Category

The Wood Awards are excited to announce the new panel of judges for the 2024 Furniture Category, led by the esteemed Sebastian Cox.

With his innovative approach and dedication to sustainability, we are confident that Sebastian will steer the category in an inspiring new direction, ensuring that the awards continue to highlight the very best in contemporary furniture design.

Sebastian Cox 

Sebastian is a renowned designer and maker, known for his heirloom collections of furniture, homeware, bespoke installations, and production designs. In 2010, he founded the Sebastian Cox workshop, driven by the belief that a traditional approach can be radical and that the past can shape the future. His zero-waste, carbon-counting studio uses timber from their own woodlands in Kent, managed for both biodiversity and resources. Sebastian’s work has garnered numerous awards, including a Design Guild Mark, a Homes and Gardens Design Award, and a Wood Award for Outstanding Design. Additionally, he is a Liveryman at the Carpenters’ Company.

Caroline Till

Caroline Till co-founded FranklinTill, a design futures consultancy that promotes colour and material innovation for social and environmental change. FranklinTill supports some of the world’s largest brands and organisations, helping them stay inspired, connected, and relevant in a rapidly changing world. Caroline’s expertise in sustainable design practices and innovation is well established, having previously directed the Material Futures postgraduate course at Central Saint Martin’s College of Art & Design. She is also the co-author of Radical Matter: Rethinking Materials for a Sustainable Future and guest curator of the globally touring exhibition Our Time on Earth.

Sheridan Coakley

Sheridan Coakley, founder of the furniture manufacturer and retailer SCP, has been a significant figure in modern British design since launching SCP in 1985. Based in Shoreditch, SCP is known for collaborating closely with designers and makers to produce design products that are both beautiful and functional. Sheridan’s commitment to quality and innovation has helped SCP become one of Britain’s most respected suppliers of contemporary design, contributing significantly to the growth of the UK design sector.

Hugo Macdonald

Hugo Macdonald is a critic and curator based in Edinburgh, Scotland. With experience as a staff editor at Wallpaper* and Monocle, and as brand director at Ilse Crawford’s design studio in London, Hugo brings a wealth of knowledge to the judging panel. He has curated the Harewood House Biennial and the Object Section of the Milan Art Fair and co-founded Bard in Edinburgh, a gallery and studio for Scottish craft and design.

Johanna Agerman Ross

Johanna Agerman Ross is the newly appointed Conran Foundation Chief Curator at the Design Museum in London. Previously, she served as curator of twentieth-century and contemporary furniture and product design at the V&A, where she co-curated the permanent gallery Design 1900-Now and the internationally touring exhibition Plastic: Remaking Our World. Johanna’s practice focuses on uncovering and sharing design narratives, exemplified by her project Design Stories at Röhsska Museum of Design and Craft in Gothenburg, a permanent exhibition set to open in autumn 2024. She also founded and directed the international design journal Disegno.

Sophie Sellu

Sophie Sellu is an artist, woodworker, and the founder of the design studio Grain and Knot. Based in London, Sophie uses traditional hand tools and techniques to create hand-crafted wooden objects from reclaimed and storm-fallen timber. Her pieces are known for their tactile quality, free-form shapes, and organic textures, reflecting the characteristics of the timber used. Sophie is also a judge on Channel 4’s programme Handmade: Britain’s Best Woodworker.

We are thrilled to have such a talented and diverse group of new judges for the Wood Awards 2024. Their collective expertise and passion for design will undoubtedly bring fresh perspectives and elevate the competition to new heights. We look forward to the exciting contributions they will make in selecting and celebrating the finest in furniture design.