Jun 10


Posted on Wednesday, June 10th, 2009

The Wood Awards judges selected an impressive shortlist from nearly 200 entries on Monday, 1 June at Carpenter’s Hall, London.

For the first time the 34 strong shortlist is being announced immediately after the shortlisting day when the panel of  independent expert judges chaired by Giles Downes, of Sidell Gibson Architects reviewed all the entries in the first phase of judging.

Featuring stunning private houses, skilful restorations, superb public buildings and bespoke furniture, the shortlist boasts an impressive array of contenders for The Wood Awards’ main categories: Commercial and Public Access, Private, Structural, Conservation/Restoration and Furniture. The entries going through to the next stage come from a wide range of sources, from leading national architectural and design practices to smaller bespoke joinery and furniture making companies.

Giles Downes, of Sidell Gibson Architects and Chairman of the judges says: “The Wood Awards is a fantastic initiative, with entrants and industry experts coming together to recognise and celebrate the use of wood in architecture and furniture design. Each year, the quality and diversity of the entries is very impressive and I am delighted that we have considerably exceeded the number of entries last year.  Amongst 2009’s submissions there has been a very wide range of entries in the Commercial and Public Access category, as well as a fine range of private houses. It is encouraging to see that good design is alive and well, despite the current difficult financial climate. The Wood Awards plays a vital role in the promotion of the world’s most sustainable building material and the event’s ability to highlight the particular advantages of using wood, across a wide range of applications, is increasingly relevant.”

The Wood Awards is sponsored by a number of organisations, led by the American Hardwood Export Council, Forestry Commission and Carpenters’ Company and is now in its seventh year as the UK’s premier award scheme celebrating excellence in wood in buildings and furniture made in Britain.

Winners will be announced at the Carpenter’s Hall on 14 October 2009.

– ends –

Notes to Editors:

Photography and images

High resolution digital images are available from Lauren Wyper by calling 020 7738 1900 or emailing [email protected].

The Wood Awards 2009

The Wood Awards is the premier award for wood in buildings and furniture.

The new furniture sub-categories, introduced in 2009, are as follows:

  1. Single-piece domestic furniture
  2. Single-piece for a publicly accessible space
  3. Exterior furniture
  4. Production furniture (both small batch and mass produced)

Sponsors of The Wood Awards 2009 include the American Hardwood Export Council, Carpenters’ Company, ConFor, English Heritage, Forestry Commission, Furniture Makers’ Company, Institute of Carpenters, Malaysian Timber Council, TRADA, Rooff Ltd and Daniel Watney Chartered Surveyors.

Full details of all sponsors and information on The Wood Awards can be found at https://www.woodawards.com/.

For further press information and full details of each project, please contact:

Lauren Wyper at The Good Agency on 020 7738 1900 or by emailing [email protected].

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *